GeezerVisonThe World Wide Web, restored to 800 pixels of glory. |
| Home|About|Gaming cabinet|Archives|How it works|Starter sites |
GeezerVison is showing doc.cocalc.com — Linux Terminal — CoCalc Manual documentation
Linux TerminalThe CoCalc Linux Terminal lets you run programs online in a Linux environment. The ongoing terminal session is synchronized with your collaborators, so you can see each other’s commands and their output. QuickstartTo get started, create a “Terminal” file in the “Files” listing or in “+ New”.
Such files end in The terminal is a way to interactively communicate with the computer.
You type in a so-called “ You can interrupt a program being stuck by pressing Ctrl + C: this sends an “interrupt” signal to the running process. Find out more about the Linux command line at the Linux Tutorial, which is one of several introductory topics at Ryan’s Tutorials. Install Software PackagesYou can use the terminal to install software packages in your project.
FeaturesExtensive Command SetIn addition to the usual commands available at user level in Ubuntu Linux, there are command line programming interfaces for CoCalc Terminal CommandsThe Linux shell in CoCalc projects has access to commands specifically intended for the CoCalc project environment. These include:
Collaboration and Side ChatLike any other application in CoCalc, the terminal environment allows more than one user to enter commands and view results in the same session. The terminal size will adjust according to the available number of rows and columns of each particiant. It also allows users participating in the same session to share comments by opening a Side Chat for the terminal session by clicking the Chat icon at upper right. Disconnect and ResumeIf you disconnect your browser from CoCalc while you have a terminal session open, the session is preserved as long as the project is not restarted. Next time you reconnect – even with a different browser or via another computer – a still running session will appear again and you can continue to work where you’ve left. Multiple Terminals in a Single Browser TabTerminals open up in a Frame Editor. This means you can split the terminal frame vertically or horizontally. The split defaults to the middle of the frame, but the dividing line can be dragged to give more space to one of the new frames and less to the other. You can continue splitting to get even more frames in a single browser tab. Click the x icon at upper left to close a frame. Startup fileIf you choose Edit > Initialization Script in a terminal frame menu, a hidden file is created which is tied to that specific terminal. This file contains commands that are run when this terminal starts. The starting template contains some ideas that may be useful. For example, it could be used to activate some virtual python environment like . <name-of-env>/bin/activate echo "The <name-of-env> is now activated" Anaconda EnvironmentTo use the Anaconda data science platform,
enter the command Additionally, you can setup your own Anaconda environment inside your project, and even setup your own customized Jupyter Kernel for it. Tips and tricksCopy-PasteTo copy a portion of a CoCalc terminal to your clipboard, select a desired region and use menu Edit > Copy. Use Edit > Paste to paste at the current position of the terminal cursor. You should be able to use standard shortcuts Ctrl + C and Ctrl + V as well. Terminal Environment in Split Frame with File EditorIf you open a source code file in CoCalc for editing, for example an
Customize FontTo change the size of the font, use menu View > Zoom In/Out. In order to change the appearance of the font family of the terminal, adjust the font settings of your web browser. For example, in Google Chrome this is done in Settings > Appearance > Customize Fonts:
Then select a different fixed-width font:
Broken VIM Key BindingsIf you have a browser extension that uses the vim keys it may intercept the Esc character, preventing you from switching to command mode in CoCalc. Either remap Esc to a different key for the browser extension or disable the extension on the cocalc.com domain. Setup fish ShellYou can automatically span a process replacing of the default bash shell while it starts
via a startup file.
In order to avoid having broken Home/End keys in the fish shell,
you have to set the
Next time you launch this terminal, or restart it via typing in Remove HistorySuppose you want to use a .term file, but want to remove previous history, comments, etc. In addition to deleting the contents of the .term file, you need to delete one or more hidden files. Click the little “hidden eye” icon in the upper right of the file listing to show hidden files. Then delete the hidden files that end in .term. They have the (recent) history of use of that terminal. If you delete them, then they are gone.
One reason this situation might arise is if you are an instructor in a course and want to distribute a .term file to your students using the Handouts or Assignments feature in CoCalc courses, but do not want to distribute command history that may have accumulated with the original terminal in the instructor’s project. |
| You are visitor 01402503 — GeezerVison does not store the pages you look up. Best viewed with Netscape Navigator 4.7 or Internet Explorer 6 at 800×600. No cookies required. |